Jack Johnson Song Review 4 – Fortunate Fool


This song is a bit of a weird one. Again, I was on the train listening to this song for the first time. I remember that I kept having to pause and restart the song halfway till I lost interest and skipped it. When I finally heard the song all the way through, it had it’s usual Jack Johnson cool factor to it, a little jazzy even, but I had a thought. I can see why Jack says “Mmm,” but the way he says it sounds a little creepy. Just listen closely to how he says it. I actually had an image of him watching his love interest from a window, singing to himself, ending each half verse with an uncontrollable “Mmm”.

Something I noticed in particular was the guitar arrangement. When I was in high school, I was in a little band that me and my friends started. Since I never played the guitar, I picked it up and played a few notes. I had no idea what I was doing. But my friend showed me a few basic notes. When I started experimenting, what came out was Jack’s guitar arrangement (who would’ve thought?) The funny thing is that I never picked up another guitar, unless I was holding it for my friend.

Getting back to Jack’s “Fortunate Fool” song, I do like the way he literally painted the picture of his love interest. According to him, she is a very confident person…maybe a little too confident? I assume that she’s also very attractive. Though she thinks she knows everything there is to know about life, the reality is that she doesn’t know it all. She doesn’t care when people say it. The girl is a “Fortunate Fool” Jack doesn’t care about that. All he knows is that she is perfect to him. It’s almost indescribable. That is probably why he can only describe her as “Mmm”, that weird, borderline creepy “Mmm”. When you look at the females around you, quite a bit of them can be seen as fortunate fools. Not that anyone should mind. They should love and admire that woman for who she is, something that’ll make you go “Mmm” (insert laugh here)

Sources:
Sing365 – Jack Johnson – Fortunate Fool
Song Meanings – Jack Johnson – Fortunate Fool
Blogspot: Chloethomps – Jack Johnson
Last FM: Jack Johnson

Rating: 6 1/2 out of 10

One thought on “Jack Johnson Song Review 4 – Fortunate Fool

  1. Ryan,

    Read through your blog and really enjoyed what you did.

    Your personality is evident and you made the blog personal and there’s also a professionalism to it.

    I like the amount of research too.

    I would say, if anything, you could have done more to go further, to really go into the album even further.

    You do a great job overall… it’s what I wanted– personality plus.

    Well done!

    PD

Leave a comment